Close this search box.

Aghon slightly intensifies, makes 8th landfall in Lucena

MANILA: The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) on Sunday issued heavy rainfall warning over Romblon and Oriental Mindoro as Tropical Storm Aghon slight intensified while meandering over Sariaya, Quezon.

In its 11 a.m. bulletin, the weather Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said Aghon has maximum sustained winds of 75 kph (kilometer per hour) near the center and gustiness of up to 125 kph while moving northwestward at 10 kph.

In a press conference, PAGASA weather forecaster Benison Estareja said Aghon made its eighth landfall in Lucena City, Quezon Sunday morning.

”Yung pagbagal ng kilos nito ay mag recurve mamayang gabi at lilihis ng direksyon hilagang silangan (The slowing down of its movement will recurve tonight and deviate to the northeast direction),’ Estareja said.

Estareja said in the next 12 hours, Aghon will move across the landmass of mainland Calabarzon and Polillo Islands and the tropical st
orm is forecast to be over the waters off the east coast of Quezon or Aurora on Sunday evening or Monday early morning.

He said Aghon is forecast to reach severe tropical storm category on Monday and typhoon category by Tuesday before exiting the Philippine Area of Responsibility northeast of Northern Luzon on Wednesday.

He said Aghon brought moderate to heavy rains over Quezon province, particularly in Bolanay, Tayabas, Alabat and Infanta, and light to moderate rains in Tanay, Rizal; Caisguran, Aurora; Science Garden in Quezon City; Tanauan, Batangas; Romblon; and Calapan, Oriental Mindoro.

Light to moderate to occasionally heavy rains are expected in Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Catanduanes, Sorsogon, Masbate, Marinduque and Northern Samar in the next 12 hours.

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 2 is hoisted over northern and central portions of Quezon (Alabat, Perez, Quezon, Gumaca, Lopez, Macalelon, General Luna, Unisan, Pitogo, Plaridel, Agdangan, Padre Burgos, Atimonan, Mauban, Real,
General Nakar, Infanta, Sampaloc, Pagbilao, Calauag, Lucban, City of Tayabas, Lucena City, Tiaong, Candelaria, Sariaya, Dolores, San Antonio) including Polillo Islands; Laguna; the eastern portion of Batangas (City of Tanauan, San Jose, Lipa City, Mataasnakahoy, Balete, Malvar, Santo Tomas, Cuenca, San Pascual, Batangas City, Ibaan, Padre Garcia, Rosario, San Juan, Taysan, Lobo); and the eastern portion of Rizal (Jala-Jala, Pililla, Tanay, Cardona, Binangonan, Morong, Baras).

Metro Manila remains under TCWS No. 1 along with the southeastern portion of Isabela (Palanan, Dinapigue); the southern portion of Quirino (Maddela, Nagtipunan); the southern portion of Nueva Vizcaya (Alfonso Castaneda, Dupax del Sur, Dupax del Norte); the eastern and southern portions of Nueva Ecija (General Tinio, Gabaldon, Bongabon, Pantabangan, Rizal, General Mamerto Natividad, Laur, Palayan City, Peñaranda, San Leonardo, City of Gapan, Cabanatuan City, Santa Rosa, San Isidro, Cabiao, San Antonio, Jaen, Zaragoza, Aliaga, Talavera, L
lanera); the southern portion of Bataan (Orani, Samal, City of Balanga, Abucay, Pilar, Orion, Limay, Mariveles, Bagac); Aurora; the eastern portion of Pampanga (Candaba, San Luis, San Simon, Apalit, Santa Ana, Arayat, Mexico, Santa Rita, Guagua, Sasmuan, Macabebe, Masantol, Santo Tomas, Minalin, City of San Fernando, Bacolor, Lubao); Bulacan; the rest of Quezon, Rizal, Cavite and Batangas; the northern and central portions of Oriental Mindoro (Pinamalayan, Pola, Naujan, Victoria, Socorro, City of Calapan, Bansud, Gloria, Baco, San Teodoro, Puerto Galera, Bongabong); Marinduque: the extreme northern portion of Romblon (Concepcion, Corcuera, Banton); Camarines Norte; and Camarines Sur.

PAGASA said minimal to moderate risk of storm surge is expected over the exposed and low-lying coastal areas of Cagayan, Isabela, Aurora, Central Luzon, Metro Manila, Calabarzon, Mindoro Provinces, Marinduque, Romblon, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay (west coast), Burias Island, mainland Masbate (northwest coast), and Akla
n in the next 24 hours.

Source: Philippines News Agency