Close this search box.

Two Lao towns receive ASEAN’s Environmental Awards

Two towns of the Lao PDR have received ASEAN’s Environmental Awards.
The two Lao towns are Xammeua district, the capital of Huaphan province and Kaysone Phomvihane city, the capital of Savannakhet province.
Xammeua district has received the Asean Environmentally Sustainable Cities (ESC) Award for 2021 for its good air quality and environmentally-friendly development. While Kaysone Phomvihane city won an Environmentally Sustainable Cities Certificate of Recognition for 2021 after it implemented a prototype urban plan in line with the Asean environmental sustainable development model.
The Minister of Natural Resources and Environment, Mrs Bounkham Vorachit, presented the awards to authorities of the two provinces and cities. The handover ceremony was held in Vientiane last week at the National Convention Centre.
During the ceremony, Director General of the ministry’s Environment Department, Mr Ounheuang Xayachack, said Laos submitted Luang Prabang, Xamneua and Kaysone Phomvihane cities as award candidates to the Asean Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities on July 5.
ASEAN initiated the Asean Environmentally Sustainable City Award programme to stimulate, benchmark, and recognise exemplary efforts on environmental sustainability.

Source: Lao News Agency