35 Lao businesses, communities awarded ASEAN Tourism Standard Awards

(KPL) Thirty-five Lao businesses and communities have won ASEAN Tourism Standard Awards 2023 including ASEAN Homestay Awards, ASEAN Community-based Tourism Awards, ASEAN Public Toilet Awards and ASEAN Spa Services Awards, according to Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism Suansavanh Viyaketh.

At an award ceremony in Vientiane on Mar 10, five communities were announced as winners of ASEAN Homestay Awards: Nayang Tai village (Luang Prabang), Vieng Neua village (Luang Namtha), Nadouang village (Vientiane Province), Houadonedeng village (Champassak), and Donekho village (Champassak).

Meanwhile, Tad Yeuang waterfall (Champassak), Nam Pien Yolapa (Vientiane), Nathong village (Vientiane Pro.), Nayang Tai village (Luang Prabang), and Nong Luang village (Champpassak) have won ASEAN Community-based Tourism Awards.

Twenty-five places and businesses across the country have won ASEAN Public Toilet Awards and ASEAN Spa Services Awards.

Addressing remarks at the ceremony, Deputy Prime Minister in charge of social and cultural affairs Kikeo Khaykhamphithoune said, “Laos’ winning of many ASEAN Tourism Awards demonstrates the attention the country has attached to the quality of tourism and that its government always prioritises tourism as a key sector playing an important role in strengthening the economy, bringing fame to the country and creating jobs for Lao people.”

He called on relevant authorities to address obstacles to tourism, attach importance to protecting attractions of natural, cultural, historical and agricultural tourism in the country in line with the green and sustainable development trends.

Since 2008, Laos has received 147 ASEAN Tourism Standard Awards including 63 ASEAN Green Hotel Standard Awards, 12 ASEAN Homestay Awards, 10 ASEAN Community Based Tourism awards, five ASEAN Clean Tourist City Standard Awards, ASEAN MICE Standard Awards, 22 ASEAN Public Toilet Standard Awards, 12 ASEAN Spa Services Awards, and 4 ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards, according to Director General of the Tourism Development Department, Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism Ms Phonmaly Inthaphoum.

Source: Lao News Agency