SAFTAs Winners for 2015 [press release] | Lao Tribune

SAFTAs Winners for 2015 [press release]

South Africarsquos own glittering award ceremonies for film and television enthralled audiences this past weekend. Two star-studded evenings, on 20 and 22 March saw big names from film and television, celebrities, entertainment industry leaders and prominent officials come out to Gallagher Estate in Johannesburg to honour the winners of the 9th annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs).

The show was hosted by the talented SAFTAs winner and Emmy nominee Loyiso Gola, while his co-hosts, SABC 2rsquos Ayanda Paine and well-known radio personality and socialite, Jen Su, featured the red carpet. Loyiso had the crowd in stitches with his comedy, while his glamorous co-hosts highlighted some of the fashion on display on the red carpet.

From the arrival and red carpet to the talented entertainment and the celebration of the winners, the SAFTArsquos honoured the lsquoComing of Agersquo theme which celebrated the industry coming into its own and telling its own stories. Entertainment for both evenings was a mix of legends like Abigail Kubeka and Trompies and current stars like AKA, The Soil and DJ Fisherman.

Speaking of the two successful nights, SAFTArsquos Committee Chairperson and NFVF CEO Ms Zama Mkosi said the industry has really come of age. ldquoWe experienced the best of South Africarsquos content competing for the ultimate industry treasure, the Golden Horn. From emerging to aanced filmmakers, makeup artists to sound engineers, the quality and excellence displayed on the nights indeed attest to the fact that our industry has arrived. We are grateful for our legends and experienced producers, who continue to ensure that our new talent and entrants in the industry receive the correct guidance in their careers.rdquo

The excellence of local productions was made evident in the first installment of #SAFTAs15 held on Friday 20 March, setting the tone for the rest of the awards. Some of the highlights from the first night were Thierry Cassuto and Alex Fynn winning the Best Directing in TV Comedy for ZANews: Puppet Nation, and Picture Perfect Heist winning Best Short Film.

Four Corners won its first award on night one for Best Achievement in Cinematography for a Feature Film, and went on to win, Best Achievement in Original Score – Feature Film, Best Achievement in Sound – Feature Film, as well as the coveted Best Feature Film which was awarded at the second nightrsquos award ceremony. That does not include the talented work done by its actors with Jezriel Skei winning Best Actor in a Lead Role ndash Feature Film and Brendon Daniels winning the Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film awards. These were also awarded on night two.

The second night included the hotly contested Soapie awards with Isibaya winning the best Soapie award and Masasa Mbangeni winning Best Actress in a Lead Role -TV Soap. The Best Actor in a Lead Role – TV Soap went to Jamie Bartlett for his role as David Genaro in Rhythm City.

This yearrsquos Life Time Achiever Award went to Marius Weyers. Mr Weyers is a well-known actor who has been in the industry for nearly 50 years and has appeared in over 35 feature films, numerous television productions and 115 theatre productions. Some of his appearances include Andrew Steyn in the Gods Must Be Crazy and Rudolf Van de Kaap in Blood Diamond.

The 9th annual SAFTAs has been yet another success story. From the industry response to the call for entry submissions, to the participation of previous SAFTAs winners and nominees as this yearrsquos judges, to the excitement that surrounded the announcement of nominees, itrsquos all been a journey well-travelled.

Special thanks go to all the partners that came on board to support the SAFTAs this year. Sustainability of the SAFTAs depends on the will of all to invest resources into the industry and to continue working together to ensure its further growth.

Here is a full list of winners:

ndash Best Feature Film ndash Four Corners ?#lrmSAFTAs15?ndash Best Director in a Feature Film : Donovan Marsh of iNumberNumberndash Best Actor : Feature Film ndash Jezriel Skeindash Best Actress : Feature Film ndash Thishiwe Ziqubu : Hard to getndash Best Supporting Actress: Marga Van Rooy ndash Die Windpompndash Best Supporting Actor: Feature Film ndash Brendon Daniels ndash Four Cornersndash Lifetime Achievement Award ndash Marius Weyersndash Best Presenter: Variety Show : Katlego Maboendash Best TV Soap ndash Isibayandash Best Directing: Soap ndash Isibayandash Best Actor : Soap ndash Jamie Bartlettndash Best Actress: Soap ndash Masasa Mbangenindash Best Supporting Actress: Soap ndash Marjorie Langa of Scandalndash Best Supporting Actor: Soap ndash Justin Strydom ndash Isidingondash Best TV Drama ndash Swartwaterndash Best Director : Drama ndash ?#lrmSwartwater? Directing Teamndash Best Actress : Drama: Nthati Mosheshndash Best Actor : Drama: Louw Venterndash Best Supporting Actress : Drama ndash Brenda Ngxolindash Best Supporting Actor: Drama ndash Fezile Mpelandash Best Comedy ndash ZANews: Puppet Nationndash Best Director : TV Comedy ndash Thierry Cassuto amp Alex Fynn of ZaNewsndash Best Lead Actress :TV Comedy ndash Mary Mhlongondash Best Lead Actor :TV Comedy ndash Thomas Gumede ?ndash Best Supporting Actress: Comedy ndash Brenda Ngxoli ?ndash Best Supporting Actor: Comedy : Warren Masemola ndash SesrsquoTop La

Source : National Film and Video Foundation