Close this search box.

Laos, Uganda establish diplomatic relations

On Sep 27, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic to the United Nations Anouphab Vongnokeo signed with Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Republic of Uganda to the United Nations Adonia Ayebare an agreement on the establishment of diplomatic ties between the two countries.

The signing took place at the Permanent Representative Office of the Republic of Uganda to United Nations in New York, USA.

Uganda, officially the Republic of Uganda, is a landlocked country in East Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south-west by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania.

The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania.

Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region. The country lies within the Nile basin and has a varied but generally a modified equatorial climate. It has a population of over 42 million, of which 8.5 million live in the capital and largest city of Kampala.

Uganda is named after the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country, including the capital Kampala.

Source: Lao News Agency