- Health

Laos bans travelers from countries with Omicron cases

The government has imposed ban on any individuals traveling from nine countries affected by the Omicron variant: South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, the Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique.

“Right now the World Health Organisation is monitoring closely the new variant Omicron because more than 10 countries have reported people infected with this strain. As for the Lao PDR, measures have been imposed. Everyone entering the country must have samples collected to find out if they have Covid-19, especially the new variant,” said today Deputy Director of the Department of Communicable Disease Control, Ministry of Health, Dr Sisavath Soutthanilaxay.

The nationwide caseload of COVID-19 has reached 75,163 with 1,425 new infections reported over the past 24 hours along with eight deaths including six in Vientiane and two in Vientiane Province.

Most of the victims had underlying medical conditions and been unvaccinated against Covid-19, Deputy Director General of the Department of Communicable Diseases Control, Ministry of Health, Sisavath Soutthaniraxay, told a press conference in Vientiane this morning.

Source: Lao News Agency